Monday, January 6, 2014

White House Chiefs of Staff, 1969-2014

Below is a list of modern White House Chiefs of Staff (1969-2014) compiled for a book I am co-authoring on the topic.

Chief of Staff          Tenure    President     Party
H.R. Haldeman           1969-7    Nixon         Republican
Alexander M. Haig, Jr.  1973-74   Nixon         Republican
Donald H. Rumsfeld      1974-75   Ford          Republican
Richard M. Cheney       1975-77   Ford          Republican
Hamilton Jordan         1979-80   Carter        Democratic
Jack H. Watson, Jr.     1980-81   Carter        Democratic
James A. Baker III      1981-85   Reagan        Republican
Donald T. Regan         1985-87   Reagan        Republican
Howard H. Baker, Jr.    1987-88   Reagan        Republican
Kenneth M. Duberstein   1988-89   Reagan        Republican
John H. Sununu          1989-91   G.H.W. Bush   Republican
Samuel K. Skinner       1991-92   G.H.W. Bush   Republican
James A. Baker III      1992-93   G.H.W. Bush   Republican
Thomas F. McLarty III   1993-94   Clinton       Democratic
Leon E. Panetta         1994-97   Clinton       Democratic
Erskine B. Bowles       1997-98   Clinton       Democratic
John D. Podesta         1998-01   Clinton       Democratic
Andrew H. Card, Jr.     2001-06   G.W. Bush     Republican
Joshua B. Bolten        2006-09   G.W. Bush     Republican
Rahm I. Emanuel*        2009-10   Obama         Democratic
William M. Daley        2011-12   Obama         Democratic
Jacob J. Lew            2012-13   Obama         Democratic
Denis R. McDonough      2013-p    Obama         Democratic

* After Emanuel left his post to run for mayor of Chicago, Senior Adviser Peter M. Rouse served as interim chief of staff from October 1, 2010, to January 13, 2011.

White Photo Gallery Feed

White Blog Feed

White House Flickr Photostream

There was an error in this gadget

Daily History for U.S. Presidents

American Memory Search

Site Meter


Wikio - Top Blogs - Politics